The new Library of Birmingham

By Rhys Jones

March 1, 2015

Category: Midlands

29 Comments »

29 Responses to “The new Library of Birmingham”

  1. Looks quite nice, although I’d worry 30 years in the future will it be like Brutalism and generally not very nice?

  2. Interesting point. The old library was built of concrete in the 1960s and is definitely a brute!

  3. This is a lot different to any library I visited when I was young, Rhys. Your photo is wonderful, but I’m not sure about the style or size of the building. I’m just old-fashioned, I know, but it will take me a while to get used to it.
    Thank you for following me. I love your work, although I’m not a photographer myself. One of my daughters (also on WordPress) is far more skilful than me in that area, but still not in your league. She tends to do all the photography challenges, though. I’ll look forward to seeing more of your excellent work. 🙂

  4. Thank you! I was rather dubious about the new library as it was being built. But on completion, it is an amazing building. I’ve been inside a few times. It is magnificent with excellent facilities. And it is HUGE inside!

  5. It looks it – huge, I mean. That’s why I find it so unlike libraries I know. The ones in Lincoln and Nottingham are much smaller, and older, of course. I bet the resources in the Birmingham library are quite awe inspiring, though. Thanks for replying to me, Rhys! 🙂

  6. I recommend you visit. You can spend at least 3 hours exploring the library, without touching a single book!

  7. Although I live not too far away from Birmingham (between Newark and Lincoln) I’ve never been into your city’s centre. I’ve been to the Black Country Museum at Dudley and various museums in the area of the Ironbridge Gorge and that’s it. So yes, a few days in Birmingham might be a good idea.

  8. I lived in Solihull for many years but now on Droitwich Soa.

  9. Well, again, I’ve been to Worcester but not Droitwich. (Droitwich is in Worcestershire, isn’t it?)

  10. Droitwich is between Birmingham and Worcester, very near Junction 5 of the M5. You can search my blog for photos of Droitwich and Birmingham 🙂

  11. It looks more like a huge department store. Exeter Central Library was rebuilt, but it nothing like the same size from the outside.

  12. I really recommend you visit. It is an amazing building and fundamentally alters our previous perceptions of what a library can be 🙂

  13. Our library has a cafe in it now. Does that one? Very expensive though.

  14. Yes it has quite a large cafe area. There is lots to see in the library including access to the roof spaces and excellent views over Birmingham. A visit will take about 3 hours, even if you never touch a book!
    I took the photo from the 15th floor of the nearby Hyatt Hotel.

  15. 3 hours? What else is there to see and do?

  16. There are exhibitions, many rooms on different levels, roof gardens, underground study areas, escalators, lifts to the viewing galleries, the Shakespeare Room, and lovely toilets lol

  17. What a fascinating building, and a great shot!

  18. Thank you Patti 🙂

  19. Thank you for following my blog! I made it over to yours today and I’ve really enjoyed browsing through your photos; they’re quite lovely. 🙂

  20. Thank you Britta. You are very kind 🙂

  21. What are the exhibitions of?

  22. They vary. There was an exhibition of photos when I went. I guess there is information on their website 🙂

  23. I’ve not seen the new Library yet Rhys, but you are so right in your earlier comment … the previous building was a brute Lol . Fact . Great picture .

  24. Thank you Poppy. You should visit.

  25. This building looks fabulous to me, is it gold in the middle section? I heard they were building a replacement building for the Birmingham conservatoire 😊

  26. You really should visit this new library Charlotte. There is lots to see and there are plenty of places to get coffee. It will take 2 or 3 hours to walk through the various parts of the building and make sure to visit the roof gardens and the viewing gallery on the top floor.

Leave a Reply

